Big Thanksgiving Blessings

There is no such thing as a little blessing.   Every blessing has merit and those we over look or take for granted are the ones with the most value to our lives and happiness.  Here are a few things that are the blessings in my life, hopefully you have your own list.   If you don’t, you need to take another look at the world and your role in it.

I love the smell of new-mown grass on a hot August day.  It reminds me of my youth and those first two-a-day workouts for fo0tball.

I am blessed every time one of my granddaughters smiles at me.   Those little ones love me without judgment.  Their love is a blessing and I am blessed they haven’t learned my faults.  Such unconditional love is staggering.

The rain is my blessing every time it makes its patter upon the earth.  We are water, the earth is water.  It is the stuff of life.  It is a sign of renewal and hope with every rain shower.

When the Sun cracks the horizon cleanly on a cold crisp winter morning, I am blessed.  That old Sol is the fountain of our life.  It is easy to understand why so many of the ancients worshipped it.  Without knowledge of the electromagnetic fields they sensed it life-giving force.  Its return each day is and was a symbol of rebirth.  We have a chance each day to have a rebirth.  Those sins and errors of the past do not have to be part of the new day.  It is our choice.  As the saying goes–“It is a new day”.

When they play the Star Spangled Banner before kick off at one of my high school games I realize the blessing of my citizenship.  The families gathered to support our youth and our future.  Because we were the home of the brave for two centuries we have our freedoms and rights.   No mean thing in a world oft in turmoil and strife.

Every birth is a blessing for parents.  It reminds us of our beginnings and the better angels of our spirit.  Children are our finest creation.  No Da Vinci or Rodin will construct an image to match the squirm of your new-born.

I was blessed to have a wife that would endure me.

I was blessed to have a wife that loved me.

What a blessing it was to have sons to teach to hunt and fish.  To show them how to track their first game and learn the rules of safety and to respect the prey.  Their eyes so wide with wonder and excitement the first time they walk at your side into the woods is a moment not to be forgotten.

I am blessed to have smelled the salt air on the coast and know that brave men in times past were daring enough to venture forth and explore and expand our horizons. 

It is beyond compare to know the blessing of helping someone less fortunate than yourself.  Maybe it is karma but I think it is more than that.  It is nice to feed the stomach but it is vital to feed the soul.  Doing a kindness is being blessed in your soul.   You won’t regret it ever, no matter the worth of the one in need.

We are blessed that we are not judged on our worthiness to others as often as we deserve and  to God, never.

I am blessed to believe God loves me.  Me.   Receiving that love without condition should spur us to be better men to our families and to our friends. 

You can find blessings walking in your neighborhood, going to work, being with family.  We sometimes look so closely at our footsteps that we forget the path we are taking.   Yes, we have to watch those steps so we don’t falter but losing your way is worse. 

Count them and rejoice in them.    http://www.olcranky.wordpress.com

 

2 Comments

Filed under Culture, family, religion

2 responses to “Big Thanksgiving Blessings

  1. Wow people, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that’ll probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Guthrie I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

  2. Great Thanks. Sorry I just now caught this great post.

Leave a Reply

